On Sunday, November 21, the Indiana Association of School Principals (IASP) will recognize Julie Innis, Principal at Arlington Elementary School, (Rob Hadley, Principal at Rush Consolidated High School received High School Principal of the Year), as the 2021 District Elementary Principal for IASP District 10.

District 10 is located in southeast Indiana and includes Dearborn, Decatur, Fayette, Franklin, Hancock, Jennings, Ripley, Rush, Shelby and Union Counties.Innis has been in education for 31 years, with 15 of those years as a principal. All 31 years of Innis’s service have been with Rush County Schools. Innis shared one of the things she treasures most about being a principal, saying, “being a principal allows me to be a teacher of teachers and staff. Learning alongside staff to create a positive learning environment for students is what I am most passionate about.”

Innis's passion for students drives the creative and positive learning environment that earned her principal of the year.

"I believe our students deserve the best possible education available. That goes beyond just curriculum," Innis said. "One focus here has been building relationships with students and families and why this is so important for students to succeed in life."  Innis will be recognized at the 2021 Principals of the Year Recognition ceremony.